is it too late to win the 2010 TBR challenge?

Posted on May 2, 2010

3


Will I succeed, when I’m so behind on my reading and blogging? Though not one for joining book challenges or memes I do like to set goals and stay true to resolutions. At the beginning of the year I declared that I would read 75 books this year (which would hardly make a dent on my 700+ TBR). I also noted the chunkster (or was it chunky?) and TBR challenges on some book blogs. I have to read four thick books (over 500 pages?) and 12 books from my TBR pile this year. For the TBR challenge, I can list 12 other titles if for some reason I can’t read a book  from the original TBR list.

2010 TBR
1.The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (done)
2.The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
3.The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Sotterfielf
4.The Sixteenth Pleasures by Robert Hellenga
5.Booked to Die by John Dunning
6.The Last Cato by Matilde Asansi
7.The Society of S by Susan Hubbard
8.The Nonesuch Lure by Mary Luke
9.Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
10.Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen
11.The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke
12.Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling

or

1.Vicky Bliss Mystery: Borrower of the Night by Elizabeth Peters (done)
2.Vicky Bliss Mystery: Street of the Five Moons by Elizabeth Peters
3.Vicky Bliss Mystery: Silhouette in Scarlet by Elizabeth Peters
4.Vicky Bliss Mystery: Trojan Gold by Elizabeth Peters
5.Vicky Bliss Mystery: Night Train to Memphis by Elizabeth Peters
6.Vicky Bliss Mystery: The Laughter of Dead Kings by Elizabeth Peters
7.Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
8.Inkspell by Cornelia Funke
9.Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke
10.The Secret Country: The Hidden Land by Pamela Dean
11.The Secret Country: The Whim of the Dragon by Pamela Dean
12.The Fire by Katherine Neville

Chunky / Chunkster
1.Labyrinth by Kate Mosse
2.Sepulchre by Kate Mosse

3.Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
4.The Talisman by Stephen King

By writing this down, did I hit on The Secret to reading challenges?

In the lists are books given or recommended by friends. I have delayed reading them long enough, and I am embarrassed at disappointing expectations of hearing my opinions on the books.

I also want to read 12 nonfiction books this year. So far, I’ve finished one, and on my way to finish three. I’m eyeing books related to work (content development and social media), grammar books, and travel lists. I’m not neglecting ang sariling atin as I also intend to read 6 by Filipino authors this year. On my shelves are titles by Robert Alejandro, GM Coronel, Carlos Malvar, Josefina Manahan, David Hontiveros, and LookslikeRein.

If putting down on paper, or blogging it, can help transform desire into reality, then maybe I will yet end 2010 winning these challenges.

