marketing to the social web by larry weber

Posted on May 2, 2010

0


This isn’t the first book on social media that I have read. But this book I finished reading real fast. There is no need to preach to the converted so I skimmed the parts that explain the difference between old marketing and new marketing ways. I know the gist, which is join the party, share useful information, and don’t push. Control is a thing of the past (if ever it existed in the first place). I like how the content is organized, straight to the point and by answers to what and how organizations wish to use the web.

Social Media 101 — just because everyone is doing it means we have to do it also? What happens if we ignore it?

  • How to let customers say what they really think (and keep your job)
  • Seven steps to build your own customer community (how to get ’em talking and clicking; how to measure involvement with new internet tools, like analytics…)
  • Using search, blog, forums, and facebook to communicate

Twice, tips and recommendations are presented in table format—which I found especially convenient. If the boss asks again what metrics to track, use table 9.1 for a quick reference on items to be measured such as page views, volume of comments, links, sentiment of reviews, and number of downloads. The book also give examples of the tools we need to compile these metrics. I only wish it was precise on how we can use these data once they are compiled.

So, listen, engage, and measure. There is no cut-and-dried formula, but we can learn from the successful practices and mistakes of big companies, generously shared across the pages.

I’m not a marketing genius, nor am I a brave marketer, just someone with the patience to slog through reams of verbiage, online and in print, hoping to be able to weed out the useless from the appropriate and workable. I must say, I long to be spoon fed, but I guess I must figure out the best practices myself as even the experts themselves are still really just testing the waters.

Posted in: maybe true